International Sibelius Conference: Call for Papers, DL 31 Dec 2014

Posted on 1 Dec 2014

The VI international Jean Sibelius conference will be organized by the Sibelius Birth Town Foundation in Hämeenlinna, Finland on December 4-8, 2015. The 15oth anniversary of the birth of Jean Sibelius will be celebrated in Finland and all over the world in 2015. The organizing committee is pleased to invite all friends of Sibelius’s music to Hämeenlinna, “the World Capital of Sibelius”. We are inviting proposals for papers under the following themes:

  • Life, Biography
  • Youth production
  • Late production (The Tempest, Freemason/Ritual music etc.) and “Silence” of Järvenpää
  • Orchestration
  • Performance tradition
  • Source studies
  • Sibelius and contemporary composers
  • General

The duration of each presentation: 20’ (+ 10’ discussion) The language of presentations: English The proposals/abstracts (about 300 words) must be accompanied by

  • curriculum vitae and contact information
  • equipment needed for presentations

The proposals/abstracts should be submitted by December 31, 2014 by e-mail to Anna Krohn,

Participation fees

250 e (coffee, lunches, concert tickets, conference publication included)
50 e daily fee (coffee, lunch, concert ticket)
25 e daily fee for students (coffee, lunch, concert ticket)

Important dates
December 31, 2014 Deadline for proposals/abstracts
February 28, 2015 Notification of acceptance
August 15, 2015 Deadline for registration
December 4-8, 2015 The sixth international Jean Sibelius conference

Keynote speakers
The organizing committee is pleased to announce the keynote speakers of the conference:
Fabian Dahlström, Finland
James Hepokoski, Yale University, the United States
Ferruccio Tammaro, University of Turin, Italy
Eero Tarasti, University of Helsinki
Marc Vignal, France

Information about accommodation in Hämeenlinna will be available on available on the conference website ( in January 2015.

Organizing Committee
Erkki Korhonen, director of the Sibelius Birth Town Foundation, chairman
Andrew Barnett, Sibelius One, the United Kingdom
Veijo Murtomäki, University of the Arts/Sibelius Academy
Eero Tarasti, University of Helsinki
Timo Virtanen, Editor-in-Chief of the Jean Sibelius Works
Anna Krohn, the Sibelius Birth Town Foundation, secretary

For more information, please contact Anna Krohn, general secretary of the Sibelius anniversary year anna.krohn [at] tel. +358 50 381 6145